A Vision Statement Without A Vision

“You can’t just turn on creativity like a faucet. You have to be in the right mood.
What mood is that?
Last-minute panic.”
Bill Watterson

I will be the first to admit that I am not a doer, I am a watcher. An observer. I am also a procrastinator (was that not clear before?). I make a lot of plans, have a lot of grand ideas, but most never come to fruition. Start to stop. Start to lose interest. Start only to find that I no longer want to try anymore. Start to become lazy. Star to quit.

I can in no way guarantee the frequency in which I will post on this blog despite the fact that every “How to Start Your Own Blog” article/post that I’ve read says that posting with some regularity/steady frequency is key to appeasing and keeping your readers. However, I feel like given my previous posts, you probably have a good idea that you should not come to expect that from me. I am a loose cannon. I can’t be contained by “schedules” and “regularity”!

I also feel obligated to note that you should take every post with a grain, handful, bucket of sarcasm, sass, and perhaps witticism. If I offend you, lighten up, it probably wasn’t intended the way you read it. Read it again. If I am incorrect, please comment to correct me. I can admit when I’m wrong, if I am in fact wrong.

There is also a lot going on in my wacky and changeable world and I haven’t really truly decided on the breadth of content. Writing about myself and my life on a constant basis seems a touch limiting as far as connecting with any audience this blog may or may not generate. That, of course, is not to say that I won’t post about my life, that was, after all, the genesis of Side Notes & RBF. Shared experiences can be a powerful thing, and it’s always nice to know that there is someone else out there that might just wading through a hell – or a purgatory, heaven, Elysium – similar to your own.

In my limited vision of Side Notes & RBF, I’ve considered having friends guest blog in effort to make this more collective. More diverse. We are however, only at the start, and the vision is incomplete and ever-changing. I’ve never been great at seeing the bigger picture, but I’m working on it. Pictures are forming … I can see the future.

I do know what I don’t want for Side Notes & RBF. I don’t want it to be a place of criticism or judgement. That being said, I am known for being both of those things and I am truly working on it. Know, that however harshly I judge someone else, I judge myself twice as harsh (this is not a justification, only a statement of fact). It’s not a way to be. At least, not a happy way to be. Please, feel free to call me out if you see these tendencies slip through.

Side Note: There is a distinct difference between having and discussing an opinion and being judgmental and/or critical.

As Side Notes progresses and begins to take shape, I honestly hope to connect, sync, and converse with you, the reader.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

