What I’m Listening To – Leon Bridges

Leon Bridges

Lately, (possibly from the season &/or weather) I’ve been in a bluesy, neo-soul, jazz phase. There’s been a lot of Coltrane, Davis, and Baker playing on Spotify (follow me here ). Last night, I stumbled across a new artist that I absolutely love!

If you haven’t heard of Leon Bridges yet, just wait, you will! Like Adele, he’s bringing true soul music back, with a 60’s throwback sound, reminiscent of Otis Redding and Sam Cooke.

I first heard him when he performed on Saturday Night Live with Ryan Gosling as the host. The second song he sang, River, gives me chills every time I hear it. He’s already scored a Grammy nomination for his debut album, Coming Home and is featured on the soundtrack for the upcoming Will Smith film, Concussion.

Check out him performing River on SNL below, and then run to Amazon, iTunes, Spotify, or an actual record store and grab yourself a copy of Coming Home. You won’t be sorry!

For more on Leon Bridges, check out this Vanity Fair article.

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

